Recruiting Guilds

Some guilds are like buzzards, hovering around the world of warcraft looking for a dead carcass (a player without a guild tag). Once they see one, they swoop down to claim it and feed off of it.

Just last night I was whispered by 3 guilds asking to join them within 30 minutes when I logged on. I respectfully declined their offer since I am not sure what I want to do with Salud. But one just made me laugh.

I was first whispered asking what spec I was. I ignored the whisper thinking he was trying to get a group together to run some instance. Then again I was whispered in all caps “WHAT SPEC ARE YOU?”. I replied “Why”. At this point I am annoyed. I just hate it when people write in all caps, just a pet peeve of mine. Minutes later, literally minutes, he replied, “I AM A RECTRUITING OFFICER AND I AM ALWAYS IN THE LOOK OUT FOR NEW MEMBERS”. Again he responds in all caps, grrr.

I decided to play along, so I asked him a series of questions to get a feel what the guild is about. For example: How many are in your guild? Is your guild hardcore or casual? How far is your guild’s progression? If you raid what time do you start? He replied with the following statement “Let me ask”

You are the recruiting officer and you don’t know.

I just told him no thank you and didn’t wait for an answer.

5 Responses to “Recruiting Guilds”


  1. 1 Galoheart May 24, 2008 at 8:56 am

    Yeah some guilds are like that unfortunately. I usually get whispers like that related more to people needing a tank for an instance run. What annoys me most is when someone can’t ask me nicely in a full sentence properly.

    As a guild GM and running a new guild I find recruiting tough especially when your small and growing and hopefully trying to find quality players over time. Takes a bit of patience but I have lots of that. One thing I never do which is also one thing I find annoying when I used to be guildless myself for a very long time is whispering people that are guildless. I just don’t do that for many reasons. I may advertise I’m recruiting or if I happen to spot a player on a instance run maybe. Yet that’s not as often these days since I tend to run less instance and less chance to spot a prospective member.

    In my guild for now there are no officers as yet as their are non that merit the position as yet. The only one recruiting is myself as just a growing guild. I would like to think that whoever is a recruiting officer of any guild would at least know enough about the guild as well enough to know if they raid, how often, and when. Needless to say i would find it annoying as well if someone random whispered me in all caps as well.

  2. 2 Zholtok May 25, 2008 at 12:56 pm

    But did they have a bank and a tabard??

  3. 3 Salud May 25, 2008 at 3:56 pm

    LOL. I didn’t ask

  4. 4 Leykis May 27, 2008 at 3:07 pm

    Make a guild for all your unguilded toons. That’ll help and will allow you to look instead of be found. When I’m on one of my alts (I keep all my alts out of my main guild for some stupid reason), and I see someone advertising outsife of “Guild Recruitment”, I put up my recuiting statement to compete: “Big Brass Spheres is a one account guild. We’re not recruiting and I sure as hell don’t have a bank or guild tabard. However, I do promise not to be quite as annoying as this other guy spamming your trade chat.”

  5. 5 Salud May 27, 2008 at 5:25 pm

    I do have a guild for my alts called “The Orphanage” but I keep missing my friends to invite them into the guild to invite my alts.


Leave a Reply

RSS Immune’s Armory Feed

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS Unknown Feed

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS MMO Champion Blue Tracker

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS Ardent Defender

RSS Aimed Fury

Blog Stats

  • 1,207,900 hits

