Achievements, the new Ding!

When we were lowbies we would announce “Ding” in guild chat that our character leveled. Then a slew of “Grats” would spam guild chat because you hit level 2. As you leveled your need to announce “ding” would die down and eventually stop when you hit max level (level 70). However Blizzard in their cunning and evil ways brought the “ding” back by implementing the Achievement system.

Now we are surrounded. Everywhere I go someone will get an achievement, which will announce in guild chat and say chat. Then an incoming of “Grats” spam begins. The madness will never stop.

*Hides under my bed.
*Curls up in the fetal position
*Starts to utter the word ”ding” and repeats it.

I know I can turn that feature off from chat but I kind of like to know what everyone is getting. There maybe one that I did not know about or seeing someone obtains a hard achievement (i.e. Ambassador) which deserves a congratulation.

I am neither against the achievement system nor individuals obtaining the achievements, I am just tired of the sea of grats. I guess I am stuck between a rock and a hard place…./sigh

4 Responses to “Achievements, the new Ding!”


  1. 1 Galoheart October 28, 2008 at 10:33 am

    I can say i feel the same way. If someone reached 70 or 80 that’s the bigger hurdle to get to and i usually do gratz. but not for like every single level as it dings in chat all the time.

    On Achievements i have a mixed view. And achievement you and easily click on in chat when its announced and you can tell with some logic to see and tell if its something easily achieved to Gratz the person or just something every easily achieved to let it just pass.

    Most Achievement is now Blizzard new Time Sink for the Player to keep them occupied in some way. I’m not going out my way to do much, since i work by my own goals and if in the event of doing something I hit one then all great and kinda feels much better and surprising that way to earn it.

  2. 4 Thrashalot February 5, 2009 at 7:19 am

    I am glad to see I am not the only person who cringes at achievement spam, followed by a string of “gz”.

    Congratulations for getting to level 80, absolutely. But for getting a tabard?


Leave a Reply

RSS Immune’s Armory Feed

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS Unknown Feed

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS MMO Champion Blue Tracker

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS Ardent Defender

RSS Aimed Fury

Blog Stats

  • 1,207,911 hits

