What ever happened to normal instance runs?

During the holiday weekend, I decided to queue up (LFG) to run a “normal” instance to get the daily done, collect shards (if applicable), and obtain some gear. But to my dismay, there is hardly any one looking to run level 80 normal instances. Everyone wants to run Heroics.

How I don’t mind running heroics but I want to make sure my gear is adequate for heroics and ensure I am not hindering the healer. Then when I feel I have reached that point I will run heroics. With no prerequisite to run heroics I am forced to run heroics because everyone wants the easy road (which is harder). Then it becomes a “How much my repair bill will be this time?” run.

How much I hate to say it but I miss the rep grind for the heroic key in TBC. I know the grind was tedious but I was somewhat OK to group with a player with a heroic key. I feel that player took the time and effort to obtain one, they should be fine running heroics.

I wish Blizzard incorporated a rep grind in WotLK and linked it to the achievements. The achievement would unlocked the heroic if you ran the instance a certain number of times. Unfortunately they did not, so I am kind of force to run heroics with inadequately geared players (including myself).

8 Responses to “What ever happened to normal instance runs?”


  1. 1 G December 30, 2008 at 11:22 am

    Wotlk happened! When everything is made “super” easy & u can run through heroics with your lvl.70 epics whats the point in doing normal instances.

  2. 2 Ben January 5, 2009 at 9:19 am

    I’ve noticed the same thing and while some of what the above commenter “G” says, many of my heroic attempts fail due to inadequate DPS. I made sure that my Spell Power was above 1500 before I started healing heroics. I got a couple crafted purples and all the best blues I could get from regular instances. I shed all my greens before I even walked into a heroic instance. Conversely I see LOTS of DPS trying to run heroics in half-greens, and they are barely pulling 700DPS. That’s simply not acceptable.

    My guess is that “G” above is neither a healer nor a tank but a sloppy DPS who “thinks” heroics are easy mode because his tanks and healers are well geared and can tow his sorry ass through instances.

  3. 3 PK January 5, 2009 at 2:14 pm

    I ran 3 heroics last night with a resto shammy in green and blue gear (item level 145 or less). After the 3 runs, he picked up some nice gear, but his gear over all is still not what “most” people would consider capable of healing a heroic.

    -Aubbrie of Moon Guard

  4. 4 PK January 5, 2009 at 2:15 pm

    Oh, forgot to add, 0 wipes, and we did 3 heroic runs in less than an hour and a half.

  5. 5 Agrona January 7, 2009 at 8:57 am

    What PK says is feasible, that people are able to do heroic runs under-geared…but it is conditional upon the point that the player is skilled. I think the post is refering to PUGs that are ultimately comprised of people that you do not know and cannot trust. The keys made it so you knew that they had to grind up rep one way or another, ESPECIALLY when it actually required revered (it doesn’t take my to get to honored, you can complete skip one or two of a set of instances). I like the achievement requirement for heroics. Even if you had to do it only once on normal to do the heroic, it would force people to go in, at least be exposed to the mobs, bosses and mechanisms of the fights. Chances are this would also cause people to get some nice upgrades along the way. I have been trying to run regular instances as well, and every time I get an upgrade and link it to my friends (most of whom decided to take the heroic route) I am always surprised when they reply with that is better than an item that they currently have. Skipping a whole tier just because you can doesn’t mean you should…and I’m a believer that it saves you time and will ultimately allow me to run more heroics faster in the future. Great post.

  6. 6 kickthesky January 23, 2009 at 1:33 pm

    I hate that I cannot find people to run normal instances. I am new to tanking and want to get enough practice in the more forgiving instances before I go off and run heroics. I absolutely refuse to run the heroics until my gear is up to snuff AND my skill level in playing my class is there.

  7. 7 alliancegirl February 4, 2009 at 1:36 pm

    I agree totally.

    It’s sad, but when I have to PUG a member in a Heroic, I armory them to make sure that their gear is up to par before extending them the invite to the group. I’ve been burned way too many times on DPS that wasn’t even close to being ready for a Heroic run.

    I hate it when people want to be carried through content that they’re not ready for. Guess that’s a pet peeve of mine. :S

  8. 8 Rangkor October 27, 2009 at 5:24 pm

    Alliance girl, there in lies the problem the only reason no one is ever geared for heroics or raids is because there is no one available to get a group for regular instances. I find this problem with my characters, I know I’m not amazing at DPS, but decent for a arms warrior. Anyway’s I can’t ever get geared for raids because of this bullshit. PvP is laid out this way also, I would love to try a 5v5 team going but it’s impossible with gear checkers, any amount of organization and skill amounts to nothing these days.


Leave a Reply

RSS Immune’s Armory Feed

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS Unknown Feed

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS MMO Champion Blue Tracker

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS Ardent Defender

RSS Aimed Fury

Blog Stats

  • 1,213,981 hits

