PUG Rules

I’m starting up a list of do and don’ts when you PUG. The list is small but I will add more as I think of them.

If you have a rule you would like to add just let me know

In no particular order.

PUG Rule #1
Once the group is full all players must make a conscience effort and head to the instance. This means that you must stop your questing/farming/pvping etc and head to the instance.

PUG Rule #2
Do not ask for a summon. See Rule #1 or a summon will come.

PUG Rule #3
Please repair, buy your reagents, bring your food/water, etc before you look for a group to run a certain instance.

PUG Rule #4
Loot Distribution
Green gear BOE/BOP – All roll “Greed”, regardless if the item is an upgrade.
Blue/Purple gear BOE/BOP – All roll “Greed”, unless the item is an upgrade (to your current spec) then roll “Need”.

This will prevent confusion to what you need to do when an items drops from the mob or the boss.

PUG Rule #5
If you’re unable to form a group within 15 minutes, the group should disband or you should leave the party to find another group.

Rule #6
If you are an enchanter make it known before the run begins. This will allow the PUG to approach Rule #4 differently (if needed).

Rule #6.1
When a BOP item is disenchanted, everyone should roll on the mats at that time. This will prevent unwanted drama with the party and the enchanter.

Edit 1/16/2009, added Rule #6 and 6.1

13 Responses to “PUG Rules”


  1. 1 acedanger January 15, 2009 at 3:27 pm

    PUG Rule #5
    If you’re unable to form a group within 15 minutes, the group should disband or you should leave the party to find another group.

    wow, given this rule, I’d never find a pug group on my server!

    I agree with the other 4 though

  2. 2 pitrelli January 16, 2009 at 5:10 am

    Sorry dont agree with rule 4 or 5 although im still relatively low level at 52. If you need an item you need an item its as simple as that. If I need a green item I simply ask the others in the Party if I can take it.
    As for the 15 minute rule, I agree with acedanger… due to the underpopulation of the old content area I’d never manage to have a group

  3. 3 *vlad* January 16, 2009 at 7:16 am

    Rule 1: Agree. How many times do you get a full group and yet no-one makes a move to the Summoning stone?

    Rule 2: Agree. This is the normal consequence of Rule 1 failing. I find it amusing that people often ask for a Summons even though no-one is yet at the Stone. It’s an underhand way of saying “I can’t be bothered to make my own way to the instance, so summon me when you get there.”

    Rule 3: Agree. Priests asking for water? Hunters asking for Ammunition? People saying they need a repair after one wipe? Happens way too often.

    Rule 4: For green gear I agree. To be honest I never even look at the stats on green gear when it drops.
    For blues/purples I am a bit more wary. Far too often people will Need on loot that is not for their class, or because they ‘Need’ it for their offspec, or they ‘Need’ it because they are broke. I would say that people ‘need’ to ask the rest of the group if it’s ok before they press Need.

    Rule5: Disagree. 15 minutes isn’t very long. I understand the reasoning, though.

    How about Rule 6: people should not behave like a bunch of 12 year olds, just because it is a pug. Show other people respect.

  4. 4 echelon321 January 16, 2009 at 9:30 am

    Rule 4. Usually I mention the fact that I’m an enchanter at the start of the PUG. I offer to shard and random any blue/purple item that is not an upgrade. Usually people prefer that over the vendor gold. In which case we ask that everyone pass on rare or better.

  5. 5 Salud January 16, 2009 at 10:17 am

    I thought about the enchanter part to Rule #4 but I wanted the rule to be a general rule (if there was no enchanter). I added another rule.

    As for Rule #5, if you decided to stay longer than 15 minutes that is your decision but I feel waiting over 15 minutes for a PUG to start is wasted time.

  6. 6 ithilyn January 19, 2009 at 6:14 pm

    Rule #4: in a pug, why mandate everyone roll greed on greens, regardless if the item is an upgrade?

  7. 7 Salud January 20, 2009 at 5:08 am

    “Rule #4: in a pug, why mandate everyone roll greed on greens, regardless if the item is an upgrade?”

    This makes the PUG run smoother. Plus when I run an instance I care about blues not greens.

  8. 8 ithilyn January 20, 2009 at 2:42 pm

    I figured that was your reasoning. A lot of people (including me) would disagree with you on that point, but it’s not really that big a deal. Regarding bops however, legions of fanatics will argue endlessly about why everyone should always pass. But since you’re a tank, you’re hard to replace, so you have the right to dictate the pug’s loot policy. Just be sure to communicate it up front so there’s no confusion.

    Points #1, #2, and #3 are right on, basic consideration and respect; #4 though is very subjective, you’ll never get a consensus, even amongst good players. I think #5 is a bit extreme, but it’s a good point. For #6, I tend to hate the hassle of passing, waiting for an enchanter to loot, DE, and pass out stuff, but some people really get off on those few extra gold, so whatever. Again, just make sure everyone’s aware of the loot policy.

  9. 9 Leykis January 20, 2009 at 3:49 pm

    I’ve always had someone wear a BOE item, regardless of color if a player says they need it. This way I don’t see it on the AH an hour later.

  10. 10 Katherine January 20, 2009 at 4:03 pm

    Not sure I agree with #6.1, though it is a while since I played. I had a run where I was the only enchanter, I said I’d distribute shards at the end if that was ok, and we had exactly 5 at the end of the run so everyone got one. But then I can’t remember if it was a PUG or if it was people off my friends list.

    I disagree with #4, everyone has different rules in their minds. Loot rules should be set in stone by the party leader (or tank, or healer, or someone) before entering the instance.

  11. 11 Salud January 20, 2009 at 4:14 pm

    @ ithilyn –
    “Just be sure to communicate it up front so there’s no confusion”

    I couldn’t agree with you more, communication is the key to a successful run.

    @Leykis – call me lazy but that is too much work

  12. 12 Leykis January 21, 2009 at 10:41 am

    You’re Crazy! (hey, you asked!)

  13. 13 Leykis January 21, 2009 at 10:41 am

    Doh! I meant Lazy!


Leave a Reply

RSS Immune’s Armory Feed

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS Unknown Feed

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS MMO Champion Blue Tracker

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS Ardent Defender

RSS Aimed Fury

Blog Stats

  • 1,217,664 hits

