Aura changes

Improved Concentration Aura: The resistance to silence and interrupt granted by this talent now becomes active when any Aura is used, not just Concentration Aura.

Improved Devotion Aura: The additional healing granted by this talent now becomes active when any Aura is used, not just Devotion Aura.

Sanctified Retribution: The bonus to damage done granted by this talent now becomes active when any Aura is used, not just Retribution Aura.

This is an interesting change. Blizzard is allowing paladins to utilize two auras as long as you improve it. I’m really curious as to why. Why now? Then it hit me, Blizzard is planning to add encounters/boss fights which resistance will be needed. This reminds me of the AQ 40 days. I just hope Blizzard does not go overboard where we have to aura dance.

Also I’m curious to know if this stacks. I can see a healer improving concentration aura and devotion aura to benefit both aura and the active one.

Overall I love the change

6 Responses to “Aura changes”


  1. 1 Rohan February 26, 2009 at 3:15 pm

    Hmm? I think you’re misreading the change slightly. Rather than tying the talent to one specific aura, the bonus ability applies to all auras:

    I.e. Improved Devotion Aura would read:
    “Increases the armor bonus of your Devotion Aura by 50% and increases the amount healed on any target affected by one of your Auras by 6%.”

    So a Resist Aura would grant extra healing, but not extra armor.

  2. 2 Leykis February 26, 2009 at 5:21 pm

    I think I have to agree with Rohan. Although it would probably be easier to understand if the description of the talent omitted the word Aura, kinda like the Sanctified Seals talent lends once to believe that it affects all Seals.

  3. 3 Hatanaka March 9, 2009 at 10:25 am

    I’m confused… I thought, pre-3.1, that aura mastery extended auras to 40yds. So is this built in now and aura mastery gives the added bonuses as well as the built in 40yd range every 10 sec? Or is the 40yd range built in always and the bonuses are every 10 sec? Im so confused with these aura changes. its very upsetting

  4. 4 Keladry March 9, 2009 at 8:35 pm

    Agreeing with Rohan. Only the improved aspects of the aura will affect all – the original aura effects will not. So if I’ve specced Imp Ret, it’s not going to make concentration aura proc holy damage to the enemy that’s trying to beat me to a pulp.

    That being said, I absolutely agree with the intent of this post. Blizz is gearing for resistance fights in Ulduar. There is no other explanation for that particular change. This means we’ll retain some usage past the base resists on those auras. No other way to read that one.

    Hatanaka. I have no idea where 10 secs. is coming from, so I’m going to ignore that part of your question. Aura Mastery is not what we’re discussing here. And no, it does not give the added bonuses. The bonuses being discussed are the specced “Improved Concentration Aura” and other such spell talents. There is one for Concentration, Devotion and Retribution. In other words, an Improved Aura for each spec. 😉

  5. 5 Hatanaka March 10, 2009 at 12:39 pm

    I understand the improved auras and how they function. I decided to post this question here because aura mastery is somewhat related. If my memory serves me well, aura mastery extends the field of ones auras to 40 yards. When I transfered my character to the PTR and respec’d I found that Aura Mastery is now a instant cast spell that last 10 secs and has a 2 min CD. When I look at the tooltip it states that it extends auras 40 yards and gives an additional of “Aura Mastery: Now makes anyone affected by Concentration Aura to be immune to Interrupt and Silence mechanics and increases the effectiveness of all other auras by 100%.”

    I guess my question is, whether or not Aura Mastery automatically extends all auras to 40 yards all the time and when you click it, you get the addition 100% increase (plus healing in my opinion for holy paladins if someone has devotion aura up). Or do the auras have the 10 yard radius all the time and only ups to 40 yards for 10 secs with a 2 min CD?

    By the way Mastery Aura is a part of the holy spec tree.

  6. 6 Keladry March 10, 2009 at 1:09 pm

    Interesting. They must have taken that out, since on the ptr currently the spell remains as it has always been. The specced 40 yard increase is the same as always.


Leave a Reply

RSS Immune’s Armory Feed

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS Unknown Feed

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS MMO Champion Blue Tracker

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS Ardent Defender

RSS Aimed Fury

Blog Stats

  • 1,213,924 hits

