Note to self: Never play WoW after an eye exam.

If you ever have an eye exam which they dilate your eyes, you should wait a few hours (maybe 3+ hours) until you can focus correctly. If not, you can’t read or see correctly up-close or it is very different.

I made the mistake to play WoW while my eyes were still under the effects. I could barely read the chat and some of the bright colors would strain my eyes. I had to sit down with my arms extended as far as I can and my head cocked back so I can at least cope with it. Very uncomfortable but at least I was able to play…somewhat. However, I should of stopped and just logged off because I was asked to fill-in an Off-tank spot since the schedule off tank was having Internet issues.

I accepted because I felt I could cope with it. Well, I couldn’t. My eyes were killing me. I was getting a headache. This led to a mediocre OT experience because I missed a lot of mobs, either I did not see them or they wondered off hitting/killing someone. Such a horrible experience.

I will never raid, let alone play WoW, while under the effects of dilated eyes.

7 Responses to “Note to self: Never play WoW after an eye exam.”


  1. 1 Beta March 18, 2009 at 5:41 pm

    Silly paladin

  2. 2 Fairlane March 18, 2009 at 9:27 pm

    I ended up on your site while searching for tips regarding switching from Ret to Holy (my guild is lacking heals currently). Your post struck me as oddly fitting.

    I happen to be an ophthalmic technician. 😀

    At any rate, your reaction to the dilating eyedrops can vary from exam to exam: The first time my eyes were dilated, I kept right on working with no blurriness or light sensitivity. The second time, I was a complete wreck. Each subsequent time, it’s been a little different.

    Long story short: Don’t let a little mydriasis hamper your play!

  3. 3 Anzak March 19, 2009 at 2:05 pm

    Dude!

    Next time, you can say no! 🙂

  4. 4 Salud March 19, 2009 at 6:50 pm

    haha, I could of…

  5. 5 ithilyn March 20, 2009 at 3:40 pm

    The price of addiction. I starting playing WoW again about 16 hours after lasik, it hurt a little, probably wasn’t a good idea.

  6. 7 (cutaia) April 19, 2009 at 3:51 pm

    You’re hardcore. 🙂


Leave a Reply

RSS Immune’s Armory Feed

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS Unknown Feed

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS MMO Champion Blue Tracker

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS Ardent Defender

RSS Aimed Fury

Blog Stats

  • 1,208,023 hits

