Too Many AFKavers

The past two weeks I have been experiencing the AV leveling grind with my level 70 Warrior (now level 71). It is a nice change of pace in leveling, plus in AV 71-80 bracket the XP is insane.

Unfortunately there are individuals ruining the experience by AFK’ing during the battle. I’ll call them AFKavers. A little pun with AV AFK’ers. Normally players can report them as AFK and call it a day. They are marked with an AFK debuff which will give them no further honor and no marks. However with the ability to obtain XP in PVP, the AFKavers found a work-around. Now the AFKavers can obtain XP in the battlegrounds while under the debuff. So they generally don’t care if they are marked with the debuff because they can get XP. It is a win win solution for the AFKavers

I am shocked not because the AFKavers are able to obtain XP while having the debuff but I do not see Blizzard acknowledging the issue and possibly hot fixing the problem. I just see constant complaining in the WoW forums about the problem. Very upsetting.

So I offer my solution to minimize the threat of AFKavers which will make everyone happy…well I hope so.

Solution
When a person is given the debuff, you have 3 minutes to engage with the opposing faction. If not, the individual will be teleported out of the battleground and given an hour-long deserter debuff.

If you’re given the debuff you must engage in PVP with the opposing faction or an NPCs. Attacking animals such as the AV wolfs, rams or birds will not remove the debuff.

Also all XP, Honor and Marks will be given at the conclusion of the battle. If an AFKaver was removed from the battleground then that player would not received any honor, mark(s) or XP.

5 Responses to “Too Many AFKavers”


  1. 1 Ron September 16, 2009 at 11:15 am

    Hmmm… tough luck for those actually trying to complete the quest in the cave for their AV trinket then.

  2. 2 Michael September 16, 2009 at 1:52 pm

    I started out last night with a lvl51 priest just a few bars short of 52. She did a few Feralas quests, did an AV and won, went to do some quests in Tanaris and ending up joining a partial ZF run, went to do another AV so she could turn in the quest and get her new wand and won again. And Dinged! Absolutely the easiest time getting across a level above 6.

  3. 3 JC September 21, 2009 at 11:44 pm

    Hmm. How would this work for healers? I primarily heal in BGs. I rarely engage the opposite faction or NPCs directly but I am frequently the top healer in any one engagement. If I were tagged with the debuff for whatever reason and I was healing my little pally arse off would your solution punish me? I don’t PVP too much so I don’t even know if it’s possible for me to be tagged with the afk debuff unless I actually was afk.

  4. 4 Swathcutter September 30, 2009 at 2:02 pm

    Maybe I should start doing AV on my hunter then eh? Is it still good XP?

  5. 5 Rudy October 3, 2009 at 4:57 am

    @Swath

    The XP in AV was nerfed in 3.2. It is not worth it anymore. It is better to quest.


Leave a Reply

RSS Immune’s Armory Feed

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS Unknown Feed

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS MMO Champion Blue Tracker

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS Ardent Defender

RSS Aimed Fury

Blog Stats

  • 1,208,023 hits

